Posted by: GeekHiker | October 23, 2009

Friday Sillyness: Trust The Mapmaker

So… let’s say you decided to take my advice from last weekend, and head out to Julian for the day.

One of the first things you might decide to do is check the traffic on SigAlert.com.  It takes the CalTrans road speed information and maps it all out for you in a handy, color coded format.

One of the easist ways to get to Julian is to take CA Highway 78 east from Interstate 15.  Below you can see some of the mappings, and the sensor locations, near Santa Ysabel.

Road to Julian 01

The sensors end for Highway 78 at Julian, right at Main Street.  And obviously, the map-maker knows what’s really important at that sensor location…

Road to Julian 02


Responses

  1. That is WONDERFUL! Omigoodness, if only all maps had pie directions, I would be in heaven!

  2. That is awesome and very appropriate. Gotta have me some Julian Pie. Dutch Apple is the best.

  3. I think every mapping program should have notations and markers for the best pie near your location.

  4. LOL! Very funny. You should submit it to the Fail blog so they could post it as a Mapping Win.

  5. OOOOooooo i need those maps but with best burger joints for post hike. Love it.

  6. Please mail me pie from Julian! Oh, I miss that place.

  7. hahaha, that’s hilarious. It took me a couple of reads to figure out the punch line. I kept just scrolling up and down thinking … “i don’t get it, is it because i don’t know these roads?”

  8. MissMcCracken – If I were in charge, all maps would!

    Derek – Welcome to the site. Dutch Apple rules!

    Dingo – I’m sure some GPS devices do…

    Homer-Dog – Definite Win!

    Cmacc – True, but of course the locals always know the best spots…

    TheCoconutDiaries – Julian Pie Company ships natinowide, just fyi… 😉

    Seine – Heh, I’m glad you didn’t miss the joke!

  9. Hahaha– took me a while to see it. I like their priorities.


Leave a comment

Categories